It is unfortunate that I don’t know a lot about my father’s parents.  I know my grandfather – Felipe Hernandez Monsisbat was born May 5, 1865 and died on April 3, 1930.  My grandmother – Marina Borragero Castillo was born July 18, 1884 and died in January of 1915 (either the 5th or the 6th). 

My father did not talk a lot about his childhood.  He was only 8 years old when his mother died.  I did hear stories about his school days, but not about his parents in particular.   From my mother I learned that one of his uncles financed his high school education at Los Escolapios de Cardenas.  I can’t remember which one of the uncles, possibly Antonio.

Being number 5 of 10, he did mention that there were efforts to brainwash him into thinking that he liked chicken backs, but he knew better.  That probably explains why my mother (number 8 of 10) thoroughly enjoyed eating chicken necks (ugh!).

