EMILIA (Mimí)
Born July 17, 1903
Died in 1985

As a child for me there was one word that encompassed love, sweetness and tenderness and that word was Mimí.  She could make me feel like I was the most wonderful and beautiful little girl, she could make everything better and chase the blues away.  I was blessed with many wonderful aunts, but there was something mystical about Mimí.  She was a peacemaker and able to tame even Wichy and he knew who to go to when he was in trouble – she spoiled him like no other.

My mother used to tell me that when my father would get impatient about being on time Mimí would say “Por mi no Chago, yo ya estoy lista.” (Don’t worry about me Chago, I am ready).  She would say this as she was heading for the bathroom to take a shower.

She was one of Las Titín, her visits were a treat.  I always looked forward to visiting them.  Their apartment was a sanctuary where I felt loved and confident that life was beautiful and the future bright.

I left Cuba in 1962 and never saw her or Titín again.  There were letters and an occasional phone call, but it was not the same.  I am forever grateful for the time I spent with them.

