Click on image

This year on Thanksgiving Day I look back at all that has happened since last November.  The dissatisfaction with my job and the stress was taking a toll on me so I had made a decision to take early retirement at the end of April.  I was not sure that it was the right decision, but was determined.

In mid-December of 2010 at my daughter’s insistence and hesitantly I went to emergency due to an asthma attack.  I must thank her for her wisdom, I was told I got there in the nick of time.  I had pneumonia which triggered the asthma attack and I was barely getting any oxygen when I got there.  It was a close call, but God was not ready for me yet.

Then one day in August of this year I was not feeling well but I was sure it was my stomach.  Again my daughter wanted to take me to emergency.  I thought it would pass and decided to wait.  I told her if after dinner I still felt sick, I would go to emergency.  Although I was not able to eat, we had company and I waited until everyone was done with dinner.  By that time I was ready to go, but thought they would just give me something for the discomfort and send me home.  As it happened, I was having a heart attack and the tests showed I had two blockages.  It was another close call.  Luckily they were able to take care of the blockages with two stents and there was no damage to the heart.  Again, God was not ready for me.  (My daughter tells me if it happens again, she will not pay attention to me and just call 911).

So this year I am very thankful to be alive.  I am taking better care of myself, going to cardiac rehab and recently attended a meeting of Women Heart, a support group of women with heart disease.  These are amazing women who have survived and who share their stories, their fears, their triumphs, their strong faith and determination to enjoy life each day to the fullest.  I am lucky to be among them.

This blog happened because I wanted to share my memories of my family and of my life with the next generations.  It is something I always wanted to do, but never found the time, but now, I am making the time and the process is helping me heal, both physically and emotionally.

I look forward to the future.  One of my daughters is getting married next year and I want to be there for her and hope when the grandchildren come that I will be there to hold them close to my heart.  I want to be there for both my daughters to rejoice in their happiness and successes and to hold their hands and wipe their tears in times of sorrow.

It is a wonderful life.  May God bless all of you who read this and may you enjoy every moment of your life.  Happy Thanksgiving!!!

Thanksgiving breakfast

