Today is the beginning of Lent.  I am a practicing Catholic and, as I always say, I will keep on practicing until I get it right.  Each year this season gives me the opportunity to look into my soul and reflect on where I am in my spiritual journey.

There is the usual giving up something.  For years I have given up chocolate, but then that became too easy when Reese’s Pieces came into the picture.  Now I give up sweets.  There could be an ulterior motive in this since losing weight could be seen as the goal.  But rest assured that I have yet to lose weight from this practice.  As a matter of fact, one year I gained 6 pounds during Lent.  So for me it is truly sacrificial.

But what I try to do this time of the year is to open my mind and my heart to God’s plan in my life and try to become a better person.  There is a lot of work to be done and the problems and responsibilities of daily life distract me from my purpose.  The Season of Lent brings things back into focus.

Prayer

O Lord and Master of my life,
give me not the spirit of laziness,
despair, lust of power, and idle talk.

But give rather the spirit of sobriety,
humility, patience and love to Thy servant.

Yea, O Lord and King,
grant me to see my own transgressions
and not to judge my brother,
for blessed art Thou unto ages of ages. Amen
St. Ephraim the Syrian (AD 305-373)

EWTN

