Today in the United States and in many countries around the world we honor fathers.  I believe the importance of a good father is undermined in today’s society for the sake of equality.  I was blessed with a wonderful father.  He died a week after my thirteenth birthday.  Fifty years later remembering the warmth of his smile, his tenderness and his strength still fills my heart with joy.  A father need not be perfect, but his presence and his support is priceless.

To all the wonderful fathers that have touched our lives, those who are no longer with us and those who continue to struggle and inspire – Happy Father’s Day!



It is easier for a father to have children than for children to have a real father.  – Pope John XXIII

Blessed indeed is the man who hears many gentle voices call him father! – Lydia M. Child

It doesn’t matter who my father was; it matters who I remember he was. – Anne Sexton

Sometimes the poorest man leaves his children the richest inheritance. – Ruth E. Renkel

When I was a boy of fourteen, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be twenty-one, I was astonished at how much the old man had learned in seven years. – Mark Twain

