guardianangel“how great the dignity of the soul, since each one has from his birth an angel commissioned to guard it.” – St. Jerome

In the room I shared with my sister when I was a little girl there was a framed picture of a guardian angel helping a little boy and girl cross a bridge.  When I looked at the picture I would think how scary it would be to have to cross that dilapidated wood bridge with a missing board.  I was frightened enough crossing the bridge over the River San Juan although it was sturdy and safe.  I pitied the two little children whose parents were not able to provide them with shoes.  I admired the little girl for her courage in protecting her little brother as they crossed.  It taught me to appreciate what I had and how lucky I was and how blessed to grow up in a loving and safe environment.  The assurance that I had my own angel to protect me would serve me well in the changes and turns that lay ahead of me in this life.

DSCN5728Calixto Garcia bridge over San Juan River – Matanzas, Cuba

That framed picture is now at a house where I spent many happy days of my childhood, where my Tia Flora and Tio Goyo lived.  Their granddaughter Lissette e-mailed me a picture which brought back such beautiful memories.

DSCN5748

The guardian angel picture that used to be in my room

Angel of God,
my guardian dear,
To whom God’s love
commits me here,
Ever this day,
be at my side,
To light and guard,
Rule and guide.

Amen

