st_-patricks-day-2012In Cuba we did not observe the traditional Irish celebration of St. Patrick’s Day.  In my first year in the United States I remember seeing shamrocks displayed at stores around that time, but was clueless as to what it all meant.  My English was quite limited and heavily accented so I was too shy to ask anyone.  That year St. Patrick’s Day was on a Sunday and I don’t remember anything special about the day.  The following year was a different story.  I got pinched in school by classmates for not wearing green.  I thought it was rather peculiar.  I also was informed that Protestants wear orange instead of green, something I never heard again once I moved to Miami, but I looked it up and it is the Irish custom.  I have worn green every St. Patrick’s Day since – did not look forward to getting pinched!

Today I wore a green sweater and my leprechaun earrings in honor of St. Patrick.  We also celebrated my son-in-law’s  (Patricio) Feast Day with Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream and Girl Scout Thin Mints – Yummay!!!  A little treat to break up our Lenten fast.

Saint_Patrick_(window)

Christ be with me, Christ within me,
Christ behind me, Christ before me,
Christ beside me, Christ to win me,
Christ to comfort and restore me.
Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ in quiet, Christ in danger,
Christ in hearts of all that love me,
Christ in mouth of friend and stranger.

