ElviraElvira

Today marks the 64th anniversary of my Grandmother Elvira’s death.  Although she died a month prior to my birth, I feel a great connection to her.  I was the first of two granddaughters to be named in her honor.  She was born on the feast day of St. Elvira (January 25) and thus the name.  She was the first Elvira in the family, many more followed.

St. Elvira was the Abbess of the Oerhen Monastery in Germany, built in the Seventh Century.  She was canonized for her contribution to the restoration of the monastic discipline.

By all accounts my Grandmother was a wonderful woman and very devoted to the Infant Child of Prague.  May her soul rejoice and shine brighter on this day.

Eternal rest grant unto them, O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon them. May the souls of the faithful departed, through the mercy of God, rest in peace. Amen.

