Slide1“We’ll be Friends Forever, won’t we, Pooh?’ asked Piglet.
Even longer,’ Pooh answered.” ― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

Things in my life are not progressing as quickly as I hoped.  Just when I was feeling defeated and stagnant, a call from a dear friend brightened my day.   My friend of a lifetime who is now living in Washington State (why can’t it be Washington DC?) called me today.  We have been friends since her family moved across the street from us in Cuba.  We were about 5 years old at the time.  What a blessing that was for me.  We shared so many carefree, happy days of childhood.  We played and studied together and got into a little bit of trouble now and then.  I always felt her mother thought I was a bad influence.

Destiny would play a trick on us.  Although we both moved to the United States, she lived in Miami and I ended up in Milwaukee.  During our teen years she came to visit when we were in Milwaukee and there she saw snow for the first time.  When I vacationed in Miami I would always make sure I got to see her.  When I gave her the news of my upcoming wedding she told me I had stolen her wedding date.  That was her parent’s wedding anniversary and she had always planned on getting married on that date.  She was one of the bridesmaids at my wedding.   When it was time for me to throw the bouquet, I heard her say right behind me “I’m here.”  From her voice I calculated where she was and threw it in that direction.  She caught it and the two of us hugged and twirled around the floor.  This did not set well with my aunt who was hoping her daughter would catch the bouquet and she accused me of cheating.  When I tell my daughters the story they seem to agree that I indeed cheated.  Mary Fely got married four years later on that date.  I was not able to attend.  I had just started a new job and was not able to take time off.

We would see each other when I visited Miami and eventually I moved there as well.  For many years we lived in the same city and very seldom saw each other, but every time we did we’d take up where we left off as if we had seen each other the day before.  This always amazed my daughters.

Today we talked for almost two hours – caught up with what’s going in our lives, talked about everything and, as usual, she made me laugh.  Her call was just what the doctor ordered.

  Como la espuma del mar creció nuestra amistad,
que siga creciendo y que no pare jamás.

