Slide1Today I attended this event.  Much has been written about St. Therese.  It always amazes me that someone could acquire so much wisdom in such a short life.  I cannot add to what others much more learned have written, but can only share some of my favorite St. Therese quotes.

“The splendor of the rose and the whiteness of the lily do not rob the little violet of its scent nor the daisy of its simple charm.  If every tiny flower wanted to be a rose, spring would lose its loveliness.”

“Without love, deeds, even the most brilliant, count as nothing.”

“The world’s thy ship and not thy home.”

“Holiness consists simply in doing God’s will, and being just what God wants us to be.”

“And it is the Lord, it is Jesus, Who is my judge. Therefore I will try always to think leniently of others, that He may judge me leniently, or rather not at all, since He says: “Judge not, and ye shall not be judged.”

“I know now that true charity consists in bearing all our neighbors’ defects–not being surprised at their weakness, but edified at their smallest virtues.”

“God would never inspire me with desires which cannot be realized; so in spite of my littleness, I can hope to be a saint.”

