Slide1January 21, 2002

I got home from work feeling extremely exhausted.  I prepared something for dinner and put in the oven.   I went to my room and changed, dreaming of the moment when I would finally be able to sleep.  Before I got back to the kitchen the phone rang.  It was Fernando, Santiago’s closest friend.  He delivered the news of Santiago’s death thinking he was talking to one of my daughters.  Once he knew he was talking to me he told me he had been assigned the task of telling my mother and that he could not possibly do that without me being present.

It is amazing how your body reacts, in a moment my energy surged.  I quickly turned off the oven put away the food and put myself together in record time.  In a flash all three of us were ready and on our way to my mother.  My recollection of the drive there and exactly how and who delivered the news to my mother is very fuzzy.  Next we all went to my brother’s house for an incredibly emotional and sleepless night.  What I remember most is how united we were in the midst of this devastating sorrow.

“He who has gone, so we but cherish his memory, abides with us, more potent, nay, more present than the living man.”  ~Antoine de Saint-Exupery

