Slide1

2 TIMOTHY 2:14-15, 22

Keep reminding God’s people of these things. Warn them before God against quarreling about words; it is of no value, and only ruins those who listen. Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth.

Flee the evil desires of youth and pursue righteousness, faith, love and peace, along with those who call on the Lord out of a pure heart.

dividerMarch 22, 1962 – My siblings and I traveled to the United States leaving Cuba and the life we knew forever.

1468190392_99073a7c6a_mThis is a picture of me taken shortly before I left Cuba.  I was 12.  Due to the shortage of certain foods, we had been living on a diet of basically Maling (a Spam-like canned Chinese meat, eggs and bread – lots of bread!) and I had put on a few pounds. I agonized trying to find something to wear for my picture and cried like a baby – the first of many tears yet to come over my weight.

As you can see by the picture, my tears were totally wasted and I just ended up with puffy eyes.  I do remember being elated that the photographer suggested to my Tia Berta that I wear lipstick for the picture.  I felt so sophisticated and left the studio walking on air.

