Slide1I remember the incredible joy I felt when Veronica was born. I was on top of the world. I now had two adorable little girls.

At 24 I was confident that I had the mother-daughter relationship down pat. After all, from my own experience as a daughter I knew what not to do as a mother. I would not make the same mistakes my mother did and we would have an awesome, flawless relationship.

I learned the hard way that there is no magic formula. I did not realize that little baby girls are tiny individuals with big personalities from the very beginning. Also, that hard as I may try, I cannot help being my mother’s daughter or ignore the strong influence she had on who I am as a person and as a mother. Not only have I made some of the same mistakes, but have added quite a few of my own.

I hope as my daughters look back and assess my inept try at motherhood that they forgive my imperfections and understand that my actions as a mother have been driven by unconditional love.

Today on Veronica’s birthday I say a special prayer for her happiness and thank God for the wonderful woman she has become.

Veronica, I love you bunches, forever and a day and a million years besides! Little hearts floating everywhere!!!

