Slide1My father was named after his maternal grandfather – Santiago Borragero.  He is the first Santiago I encountered in my search for ancestors.  I don’t know if there were any Santiagos in the family before him.  My oldest brother was named Santiago Felipe, his oldest son’s name is Santiago Rafael.  The next generation has honored the name twice as a middle name, Lucas Santiago and Victor Santiago.

July 25 is the feast of Santiago Apóstol which translates to St. James the Apostle, one of the original twelve.  He is the patron saint of Spain and it is believed that his remains were buried there.  I remember my father telling me that the name was originally Iago and eventually from San Iago it morphed into Santiago.  The name Diego is also derived from Iago.

Many blessings on this day to all the Santiagos, Diegos and James out there.

