Old age is not so bad when you consider the alternative. – Maurice Chevalier

Slide1I wonder if when I was a young girl dreaming of what life would bring and not focusing in what I could bring to my life, old ladies would look at me wishing they could tell me not to waste opportunities. Perhaps they wanted to tell me to take care of myself and the importance of flossing, taking my make-up off before going to bed, exercising, nutrition, getting proper rest, etc. , not for the sake of my appearance, but because it would contribute to a healthier and more vital old age.  Also, not to worry so much about my looks and concentrate instead on inner beauty which is the one that lasts and may even increase as you grow older. Not that I would have listened then or that I heed this advice today.

Slide1

In my not so wise old age I wish I could pass this knowledge on to young girls. I do not envy them their youth, I would not want to go through that again. I have made a lot of mistakes, fought a lot of unnecessary battles and dealt with countless insecurities.  I still struggle, but after years of drowning in self-doubt, I’ve come to accept who I am. There is a lot of work left to do. Perhaps at the end of my life I may even learn to like myself.

Sixty-four seemed so very far away when this song came out.  Now I’ve been there and out.

 

 

 

