I very seldom write in my blog any more. Perhaps as I get older I feel more irrelevant each day. Perhaps what I consider the wisdom of experience others see as the rantings of an old woman.

Once in a while something happens that compels me to express what is in my heart. The death of Fidel Castro awakens emotions long suppressed. At this point in history it may change nothing, but it certainly brings to the surface the pain and suffering he inflicted on my country, my family, and my life.

He lived a long life, became extremely wealthy and enjoyed luxury and fame while the people of his country lived in misery and poverty. Do I celebrate his death? Not exactly because it does not erase the damage of the last 57 years. But it does provide a certain relief and a new hope for my country of birth.

It is poetic justice that he died on Black Friday. On such a day in 1962 had not the FBI thwarted his plan, bombs would have gone off in New York City’s largest department stores and Grand Central Station.

God’s mercy is greater than our sins. Let justice be done according to His will.

slide1

