After the stressful events at the airport, we boarded the plane bound for Miami and an uncertain future. I was convinced that the situation in Cuba would soon be resolved and this would be a short, fun trip and we would be returning home within a month.

I remember a man bragging he had managed to get two gold rings through inside the toe of his shoe. Most passengers were still too scared to speak. We were served cafe con leche. This was my first trip in an airplane and it was exciting.  The excitement was immediately taken over by an excruciating earache. My oldest brother Santiago let me rest my head on him as he tried to soothe me. Luckily it was a short flight and the pain subsided as soon as we landed.

Fifty five years later the memories are still fresh. Now, if I could only remember where I put my cell phone!!!

