A few months before I left Cuba my mother gave me a gold chain with a gold St. Joseph medal. It had been given to my father by his sister Emilia (Mimí). She had prayed to St. Joseph for my father when he was seriously ill. I never questioned what prompted my mother to give it to me. My father was still alive. I don’t know whose idea it was. I was just happy to wear it.

The day I left Cuba that precious gift was confiscated by the Castro’s authorities at the airport. I was heartbroken to see it taken away. That was also the last time I saw my father.

St. Joseph was the foster father of Jesus. How amazing he had to be to be chosen to care for God’s beloved son. My father was very wonderful and I am glad my aunt asked St. Joseph’s protection for him. At the precise time of my father’s death Mimí was praying to St. Joseph for him. St. Joseph is the Patron Saint of a Happy Death so I pray he was there to lead my father’s soul to Heaven.

On this Father’s Day I ask St. Joseph’s loving guidance for all fathers and a special blessing for my own father.

